THE PUBLIC ROOMS

The public rooms on the ground floor of the hotel consist of the reception area, the Bistro, the Veranda, the Walliser Stube, the Petite Salle (reading room) and the Salle à Manger (dining room).

Garden café

Depending on whether you arrive to the west or the east side, the hotel shows a different view. The eastern façade with the striking round flight of steps has a grand air; the path to the west entrance leads you through the garden café, shaded by mulberry trees.

The reception

The reception area greets you with its open, modern office panelled in light maple wood. Art Nouveau flower sprays on the ceiling date from 1897. They were rediscovered during restoration work in 2007.

Bistro

The Veranda on the south side is reached by way of the earlier Smoking Room, now the “Bistro”. It is the oldest part of the building, dating from 1883. The walls are stencilled in a red and blue pattern in the Biedermeier style. The bar and the tables are made of the light-coloured wood of maple, which contrasts well with the patina of the original wooden floor.

The Veranda

The Veranda appears to cling to the south façade of the hotel. The four tables are very popular as they give a view onto the river Binna, of St.Michael’s, the Parish Church in Wilere and of the massive Breithorn, the mountain bordering the Binn valley to the west.

The “Walliser Stube”

The “Walliser Stube” dates from 1946, when many such rooms throughout Switzerland were decorated in the style called “Landi” – after the Swiss National Exhibition of 1939. In the Hotel Ofenhorn, larch wood was used for the panelling, the false ceiling beams and the tables. Over the fireplace hangs a hunting trophy: the head of the first red deer which returned to this part of Switzerland in 1942.

The “Petite Salle”

The “Petite Salle” was formerly a ladies’ sitting room, today it is a reading room for watching television. Here are to be found the original armchairs and table of the former smoking room.

“Salle à Manger”

The showpiece of the hotel is the splendid “Salle à Manger” – the dining room, which holds up to 100 people. During renovations in 2011, the original ornamentation in the architectural style was revealed on the ceiling. Wallpaper with a rose pattern decorates the walls; the design was recreated from scraps of the original wall-paper, and then produced in a traditional printing process.
 

Contact

Hotel Ofenhorn
Ufem Acher 1, CH-3996 Binn
Telephone +41 27 971 45 45
E-Mail


Hosts:
Regula Hüppi and team

© 2011 - 2018 | webdesign, webentwicklung, webhosting powered by indual

Les espaces publics

Le rez-de-chaussée de l’hôtel offre plusieurs locaux publics : la réception, le bistro, la véranda, la pièce valaisanne, la Petite salle (salle de lecture) et la salle à manger.

le grand jardin

Selon que vous arriviez de l’Est ou de l’Ouest, l’Hôtel présente un accueil différent. La façade est rappelle un château avec son escalier en colimaçon. Le chemin vers l’entrée ouest passe par le grand jardin à l’ombre des sorbiers des oiseleurs.

La réception

La réception ouverte et moderne vous accueille dans la chaleur de son bois d’érable clair. Des plantes joueuses et des décors Art Nouveau parcourent son plafond depuis 1897. Ils ont été redécouverts lors de la restauration en 2007.

Bistro

Depuis la véranda située au sud, accédez à l’ancien fumoir utilisé aujourd’hui comme bistro. Il s’agit du plus ancien bâtiment, daté de 1883. Les murs sont ornés de motifs Empire bleus et rouges réalisés au chablon. Le comptoir et les tables en bois d’érable contrastent avec le sol original et sa patine toute particulière.

La véranda

La véranda est quasiment collée à la façade sud de l’hôtel. Ses quatre tables sont très convoitées. Elles offrent en effet un point de vue intéressant sur Binn, l’église St-Michael à Wilere et sur le fier Breithorn qui fait office de frontière ouest de la Vallée de Binn.

pièce valaisanne

La pièce valaisanne a conservé son apparence actuelle depuis 1946. Dans toute la Suisse, de nombreuses pièces destinées aux visiteurs étaient autrefois aménagées dans le style appelé « Landi ». À l’Hôtel Ofenhorn, le mélèze a été choisi pour les parois, les poutres du plafond et les tables. Un trophée de chasse trône au dessus de la cheminée : il s’agit du premier cerf revenu en 1942 en Haut-Valais.

Petite Salle

La « Petite salle » servait auparavant de séjour aux dames. Elle est aujourd’hui convertie en salle de lecture ou de télévision ouverte à tout le monde. Les meubles rembourrés originaux et les petites tables de l’ancien fumoir y ont trouvé leur nouvelle place.

Salle à Manger

La majestueuse salle à manger représente le joyau de l’hôtel. Elle peut accueillir jusqu’à cent personnes. Lors de sa restauration en 2011, les authentiques pentures architecturales ont à nouveau été dégagées du plafond. Des papiers peints roses ornent les murs. Ils ont été reconstitués selon les procédés d’impression traditionnels en utilisant des pièces originales.

 

Contact

Hôtel Ofenhorn
Ufem Acher 1, CH-3996 Binn
Téléphone +41 27 971 45 45
E-Mail


Hôtes:
Regula Hüppi et son équipe

© 2011 - 2018 | webdesign, webentwicklung, webhosting powered by indual