HISTORY OF THE HOTEL OFENHORN

The second half of the 19th century is said to be the “golden” age of the Swiss hotel business. Travelling and holidays in Switzerland became very popular among the wealthier upper classes of Europe. Enormous hotel palaces sprang up, first on the banks of the Lakes of Geneva and Lucerne, and later on the more important travel routes, and lastly in moreremote mountain spots.

In 1880, the hotel-keeper Josef Speckly from Fiesch in the Valais was granted permission by the community of Binn to open a guest house in Schmidigehischere, the main village in the valley. Elias Walpen from Binn and Josef Schmid from Ernen joined him in planning the hotel building, but both Speckly and Walpen withdrew from the partnership before construction began in 1981, leaving Josef Schmid alone. His wife, Maria Schmid, (maiden name Kräig) from Ernen, was of a wealthy family and appears to have been the driving force behind the hotel construction. She then actually ran the hotel from 1883, even though only the name of her husband is found on official documents of the period.

In the first years, business flourished so well that in 1897 it was possible to extend the hotel on the north side. But following the outbreak of the First World War, English guests came no longer. Business was bad, and hardly recovered in the following decades.

For three generations, the Schmid family ran the Hotel in Binn. In 1969 they gave up: the turnover was insufficient to cover the costs of the extensive renovations needed.

In 1972, an economic society active in the Goms Valley, PUMAG, appeared on the scene, bought the hotel and invested in it half-a-million Swiss francs. Central heating wasinstalled and running water in all the hotel rooms. But the PUMAG too was not able to turn it into a profitable concern. As the façade began to crumble and the roof to leak, the company withdrew from the Binn valley.

The local community of Binn sought a way to save the Hotel Ofenhorn. In 1987, the cooperative “Pro Binntal” was founded. Within a few months, several hundred people from all over Switzerland became members of the cooperative, providing the means necessary to buy the hotel for over 1 Million Swiss francs, and to renovate the building itself. In 1990 the hotel was saved from decay, but despite this, there were insufficient financial means available to restore the interior of the hotel.

It was not until 2006 that the Cooperative made a new attempt to realise this dream. And in fact the new Board was able to inspire members and several Foundations with the idea of restoring the interior rooms and installing climate-friendly wood-fired heating. Up to 2011, more than 3 million Swiss francs were invested in this way, and thus three-quarters of the interior were renovated, and the Hotel once again displays the splendour of the Belle Epoque.

READING TIP

Brochure “125 Jahre Hotel Ofenhorn, Binn”, (in German) 32 pp, many photographs, Pro Binntal 2008 (obtainable from the Hotel reception or from the Cooperative Pro Binntal ).

 

Contact

Hotel Ofenhorn
Ufem Acher 1, CH-3996 Binn
Telephone +41 27 971 45 45
E-Mail


Hosts:
Regula Hüppi and team

© 2011 - 2018 | webdesign, webentwicklung, webhosting powered by indual

L’histoire

La deuxième moitié du 19ème siècle est reconnue comme l’âge d’or de l’hôtellerie suisse. Les voyages et les vacances en Suisse étaient particulièrement prisés par la bonne société européenne. Le Lac Léman et le Lac des Quatre-Cantons ont été les premiers à voir émerger d’immenses palaces sur leurs berges, avant que le phénomène ne se répande le long des plus importants axes de communication puis se retrouve dans des coins plus reculés situés dans les montagnes.

En 1880, la commune de Binn accorda à l’hôtelier de Fiesch, Josef Speckly, une concession pour construire une maison d’hôtes à Schmidigehischere, le chef-lieu de la vallée. Celui-ci s’associa à Elias Walpen de Binn et à Josef Schmid d’Ernen pour bâtir l’hôtel. Avant le début de la construction en 1881, Speckly et Walpen quittèrent le consortium et Josef Schmid se retrouva seul. Sa femme, Maria Schmid d’Ernen née Kräig, issue d’une famille aisée, a apparemment représenté la force vive derrière la construction de l’hôtel. Elle a par la suite également dirigé l’hôtel dès 1883, même si les documents officiels de cette époque mentionnent uniquement le nom de son époux.

Les premières années de gestion ont été florissantes. Un agrandissement de l’hôtel en direction du Nord a ainsi pu être réalisé en 1897. Avec l’irruption de la Première Guerre mondiale, les clients anglais se sont faits plus rares. Durant cette période, l’activité a tourné au ralenti et a à peine été récupérée au cours des décennies qui suivirent.

La famille Schmid dirigea l’Hôtel Ofenhorn à Binn pendant trois générations. Ils abandonnèrent l’affaire en 1969: la recette était trop maigre pour couvrir les énormes besoins de rénovation.

En 1972, la « Pro Unter und Mittelgoms AG » (PUMAG) a fait son entrée dans l’histoire de l’hôtel. Elle racheta l’Ofenhorn et y investit environ un demi million de francs. L’hôtel fut équipé d’un chauffage central et toutes les chambres obtinrent l’eau courante. Mais la PUMAG n’était pas sorti d’affaire. Lorsque les façades commencèrent à s’effriter et que le toit devint perméable, la société anonyme se retira de l’aventure àBinn.

La commune de Binn rechercha alors une solution pour sauver l’Hôtel Ofenhorn. Elle fonda la coopérative « Pro Binntal » en 1987. De fait, en quelques mois, plusieurs centaines de personnes de toute la Suisse rejoignirent la coopérative et constituèrent un fond de plus d’un million de francs pour racheter l’hôtel et restaurer le revêtement du bâtiment. En 1990, l’hôtel fut sauvé du délabrement. Mais les moyens pour restaurer les espaces intérieurs manquaient encore.

Ce n’est qu’en 2006 que la coopérative relança la machine pour réaliser son rêve. En effet, le nouveau comité parvint à enthousiasmer ses membres ainsi que plusieurs fondations avec son projet de restauration de l’intérieur et de mise aux normes environnementales de l’hôtel grâce à une chaudière à bois. Plus de trois millions de francs furent ainsi investis jusqu’en 2011. Les trois quarts de l’intérieur de l’hôtel ont alors pu être rafraichis et l’éclat de la Belle Époque brille aujourd’hui à nouveau.

Conseil de lecture:

Brochure en allemand „125 Jahre Hotel Ofenhorn, Binn“, 32 pages, beaucoup de photos, coopérative Pro Binntal 2008 (disponible à la réception ou à la coopérative Pro Binntal).

 

Contact

Hôtel Ofenhorn
Ufem Acher 1, CH-3996 Binn
Téléphone +41 27 971 45 45
E-Mail


Hôtes:
Regula Hüppi et son équipe

© 2011 - 2018 | webdesign, webentwicklung, webhosting powered by indual