The Binn Valley

The Binn Valley is one of the most intact valleys in the whole alpine range. In 1964, the Community declared the largest part of the valley a natural reserve, and thus set the course for a sustainable development. The “Protection Contract Binn Valley” was concluded with the organisation Pro Natura and the Swiss Alpine Club for the duration of one hundred years.

All over the world the Binn valley is well known for its mineral riches. In no other alpine region can so many different kinds of minerals be found. Among them are more than 20 which are found nowhere else in the world. Most of these were brought to light in the Lengenbach mineral mine. These are special minerals found only in Dolomite rock strata.

Not only for its minerals, but also for its flora, is the Binn Valley called “valley of the hidden treasures”.Botanical rarities tempt numbers of specialists to the valley every year. The other visitors enjoy the flower-covered meadows.

With a bit of luck, one can also catch sight of the best known of the wild alpine animals such as chamois, ibex and red deer, as well as the eagle, the king of the air.

There have been settlements in the Binn valley for several thousand years. In prehistoric and early times, the Albrun was one of the most important passes crossing from the Valais to the plains of the river Po. Many grave discoveries from Celtic and Roman times confirm the early settlement of the valley. The ornaments and weapons found can be viewed in the Regional Museum right next to the Hotel Ofenhorn.

Wilere, with the parish church of St. Michael, the village of Schmidigehischere with its arched bridge, and the Hotel Ofenhorn are classified as places of national importance. The same applies to the hamlet “Fäld” (Imfeld), one of the most intact sites ever. The people of Binn and the authorities have for decades endeavoured to preserve this cultural inheritance.

A part of this inheritance is the work of the farmers, without which the fresh green of the meadows and pastures would disappear from the landscape. The work over hundreds of years of the mountain farming families has created and marked this cultural landscape, and this is appreciated by both our guests and the local inhabitants.

The Landscape Park Binn Valley is a project to create a regional nature park of national importance. The people of Binn, together with neighbouring communities, wish to preserve and sustain usefully their rich natural and cultural inheritance.

www.landschaftspark-binntal.ch

 

Contact

Hotel Ofenhorn
Ufem Acher 1, CH-3996 Binn
Telephone 027 971 45 45
E-Mail


Hosts:
Regula Hüppi and team

© 2011 - 2017 | webdesign, webentwicklung, webhosting powered by indual

La Vallée de Binn

La Vallée de Binn appartient au cercle fermé des vallées les plus intactes de l’ensemble de l’arc alpin. En 1964, ses habitants et sa bourgeoisie décidèrent de protéger la plus grande part de la vallée. La voix vers un développement durable fut ainsi initiée. Le « contrat de protection de la Vallée de Binn » a été conclu avec Pro Natura et de Club Alpin Suisse pour une durée de cent ans.

La Vallée de Binn est reconnue internationalement pour la richesse de ses minéraux. La diversité de ces derniers ne se retrouve dans aucunes autres régions des Alpes. On y compte 20 exclusivités mondiales. La plupart d’entre eux été prélevés dans la mine de Lengenbach. Il s’agit de minéraux spéciaux qui ne se sont présents que dans le massif des Dolomites.

Les minéraux ne sont pas les seuls à faire la réputation de la vallée. Sa flore lui vaut également le surnom de « la vallée aux trésors cachés ». Ses raretés botaniques attirent chaque année de nombreux spécialistes. Les amateurs peuvent quant à eux se réjouir de la diversité et de la magnificence florale.

Avec un peu de chance, il est également possible d’observer les plus grands animaux alpins, comme le chamois, bouquetin, cerf et chevreuil ainsi que le roi des airs : l’aigle.

Les humains se sont installés dans la Vallée de Binn depuis plusieurs milliers d’années. Au cours de la préhistoire, mais également aux temps historiques, l’Albrun était l’un des cols les plus importants permettant de passer dans la plaine du Pô. De nombreuses fouilles archéologiques de sites celtes et romains attestent d’une occupation ancienne de la Vallée de Binn. Le musée régional, situé juste à côté de l’Hôtel Ofenhorn, expose des bijoux et armes de l’époque.

Wilere, avec l’église paroissiale St-Michel, le hameau Schmidigehischere, avec son pont arqué, ainsi que l’Hôtel Ofenhorn sont classés comme sites d’importance nationale. Cela s’applique également au hameau « Fäld » (Imfeld), l’un des villages resté de fait encore intact. La population de Binn et les autorités s’efforcent depuis des dizaines d’années de préserver le riche patrimoine culturel de la vallée.

N’oublions pas l’agriculture, sans laquelle le vert clair des prairies et des pâturages disparaitrait. Le travail séculaire des familles des paysans de montagnes a façonné un paysage rural particulier, apprécié autant par les habitants de la vallée que par ces visiteurs.

Le parc naturel de la Vallée de Binn est un projet qui tend à créer un parc naturel régional d’importance nationale. Les habitants de Binn et les communes avoisinantes désirent ainsi conserver, mettre en valeur et utiliser de manière durable leur patrimoine naturel et culturel.

www.landschaftspark-binntal.ch

 

Contact

Hôtel Ofenhorn
Ufem Acher 1, CH-3996 Binn
Téléphone +41 (0)27 971 45 45
E-Mail


Hôtes:
Regula Hüppi et son équipe

© 2011 - 2017 | webdesign, webentwicklung, webhosting powered by indual