THE PUBLIC ROOMS

The public rooms on the ground floor of the hotel consist of the reception area, the Bistro, the Veranda, the Walliser Stube, the Petite Salle (reading room) and the Salle à Manger (dining room).

Garden café

Depending on whether you arrive to the west or the east side, the hotel shows a different view. The eastern façade with the striking round flight of steps has a grand air; the path to the west entrance leads you through the garden café, shaded by mulberry trees.

The reception

The reception area greets you with its open, modern office panelled in light maple wood. Art Nouveau flower sprays on the ceiling date from 1897. They were rediscovered during restoration work in 2007.

Bistro

The Veranda on the south side is reached by way of the earlier Smoking Room, now the “Bistro”. It is the oldest part of the building, dating from 1883. The walls are stencilled in a red and blue pattern in the Biedermeier style. The bar and the tables are made of the light-coloured wood of maple, which contrasts well with the patina of the original wooden floor.

The Veranda

The Veranda appears to cling to the south façade of the hotel. The four tables are very popular as they give a view onto the river Binna, of St.Michael’s, the Parish Church in Wilere and of the massive Breithorn, the mountain bordering the Binn valley to the west.

The “Walliser Stube”

The “Walliser Stube” dates from 1946, when many such rooms throughout Switzerland were decorated in the style called “Landi” – after the Swiss National Exhibition of 1939. In the Hotel Ofenhorn, larch wood was used for the panelling, the false ceiling beams and the tables. Over the fireplace hangs a hunting trophy: the head of the first red deer which returned to this part of Switzerland in 1942.

The “Petite Salle”

The “Petite Salle” was formerly a ladies’ sitting room, today it is a reading room for watching television. Here are to be found the original armchairs and table of the former smoking room.

“Salle à Manger”

The showpiece of the hotel is the splendid “Salle à Manger” – the dining room, which holds up to 100 people. During renovations in 2011, the original ornamentation in the architectural style was revealed on the ceiling. Wallpaper with a rose pattern decorates the walls; the design was recreated from scraps of the original wall-paper, and then produced in a traditional printing process.
 

Contact

Hotel Ofenhorn
Ufem Acher 1, CH-3996 Binn
Telephone +41 27 971 45 45
E-Mail


Hosts:
Regula Hüppi and team

© 2011 - 2018 | webdesign, webentwicklung, webhosting powered by indual

Die Gasträumlichkeiten

Im Erdgeschoss des Hotels finden Sie mehrere öffentliche Räumlichkeiten: der Empfangsbereich, das Bistro, die Veranda, die Walliserstube, die Petite salle (Lesezimmer) und die Salle à Manger (Speisesaal).

Grosszügiger Gastgarten

Je nachdem, ob Sie von Osten oder Westen anreisen, bietet das Hotel einen unterschiedlichen Empfang. Die Ostfassade mit der markanten Rundtreppe erinnert an ein Schloss. Der Weg zum Westeingang führt durch den grosszügigen Gastgarten mit den Schatten spendenden Vogelbeerbäumen.

Der Empfangsbereich

Im Empfangsbereich begrüsst sie eine offene, moderne Réception aus hellem Ahornholz. An der Decke ranken seit 1897 verspielte Pflanzendekors im Jugendstil. Sie wurden bei der Restaurierung im Jahr 2007 wieder entdeckt.

Bistro

Auf die Veranda an der Südseite gelangen Sie durch das ehemalige Fumoir, das heute als Bistro genutzt wird. Es ist der älteste Gebäudeteil aus dem Jahr 1883. Die Wände sind schablonenhaft mit blauen und roten Mustern im Biedermeierstil (franz. „Empire“) verziert. Theke und Tische aus hellem Ahornholz schaffen einen Kontrast zum originalen Boden mit seiner besonderen Patina.

Veranda

Die Veranda klebt quasi an der Südfassade des Hotels. Die vier Tische sind heiss begehrt, erlauben sie doch einen herrlichen Ausblick zur Binna, zur Pfarrkirche St. Michael in Wilere und auf das mächtige Breithorn (2593 m.ü.M.), das im Westen das Binntal begrenzt.

Walliser Stube

Die Walliser Stube erhielt ihr heutiges Aussehen im Jahr 1946. Damals wurden zahlreiche Gaststuben in der ganzen Schweiz im so genannten „Landi-Stil“ umgebaut. Im Hotel Ofenhorn wurde für die Wandverkleidungen, die Deckenbalkenattrappen und die Tische Lärchenholz gewählt. Ob dem Cheminée hängt eine Jagdtrophäe: Es ist der erste Hirsch, der um 1942 ins Oberwallis zurück gewandert ist.

Petite Salle

Der «Petite Salle» diente früher den Damen als Aufenthaltsort, heute ist er Lesezimmer oder Fernsehraum für alle. Hier haben die originalen Polstermöbel und das Tischchen des ehemaligen Fumoirs einen passenden Platz gefunden.

Salle à Manger

Prunkstück des Hotels ist die grosszügige «Salle à Manger». Der Speisesaal kann bis zu hundert Personen fassen. Bei der Restaurierung im Jahr 2011 wurden an der Decke die ursprünglichen Architekturbänder wieder frei gelegt. Rosentapeten zieren die Wände; sie wurden nach originalen Fundstücken in traditionellem Druckverfahren rekonstruiert.
 

Kontakt

Hotel Ofenhorn
Ufem Acher 1, CH-3996 Binn
Telefon +41 27 971 45 45
E-Mail

Gastgeber:
Regula Hüppi und ihr Team

© 2011 - 2017 | webdesign, webentwicklung, webhosting powered by indual