HISTORY OF THE HOTEL OFENHORN

The second half of the 19th century is said to be the “golden” age of the Swiss hotel business. Travelling and holidays in Switzerland became very popular among the wealthier upper classes of Europe. Enormous hotel palaces sprang up, first on the banks of the Lakes of Geneva and Lucerne, and later on the more important travel routes, and lastly in moreremote mountain spots.

In 1880, the hotel-keeper Josef Speckly from Fiesch in the Valais was granted permission by the community of Binn to open a guest house in Schmidigehischere, the main village in the valley. Elias Walpen from Binn and Josef Schmid from Ernen joined him in planning the hotel building, but both Speckly and Walpen withdrew from the partnership before construction began in 1981, leaving Josef Schmid alone. His wife, Maria Schmid, (maiden name Kräig) from Ernen, was of a wealthy family and appears to have been the driving force behind the hotel construction. She then actually ran the hotel from 1883, even though only the name of her husband is found on official documents of the period.

In the first years, business flourished so well that in 1897 it was possible to extend the hotel on the north side. But following the outbreak of the First World War, English guests came no longer. Business was bad, and hardly recovered in the following decades.

For three generations, the Schmid family ran the Hotel in Binn. In 1969 they gave up: the turnover was insufficient to cover the costs of the extensive renovations needed.

In 1972, an economic society active in the Goms Valley, PUMAG, appeared on the scene, bought the hotel and invested in it half-a-million Swiss francs. Central heating wasinstalled and running water in all the hotel rooms. But the PUMAG too was not able to turn it into a profitable concern. As the façade began to crumble and the roof to leak, the company withdrew from the Binn valley.

The local community of Binn sought a way to save the Hotel Ofenhorn. In 1987, the cooperative “Pro Binntal” was founded. Within a few months, several hundred people from all over Switzerland became members of the cooperative, providing the means necessary to buy the hotel for over 1 Million Swiss francs, and to renovate the building itself. In 1990 the hotel was saved from decay, but despite this, there were insufficient financial means available to restore the interior of the hotel.

It was not until 2006 that the Cooperative made a new attempt to realise this dream. And in fact the new Board was able to inspire members and several Foundations with the idea of restoring the interior rooms and installing climate-friendly wood-fired heating. Up to 2011, more than 3 million Swiss francs were invested in this way, and thus three-quarters of the interior were renovated, and the Hotel once again displays the splendour of the Belle Epoque.

READING TIP

Brochure “125 Jahre Hotel Ofenhorn, Binn”, (in German) 32 pp, many photographs, Pro Binntal 2008 (obtainable from the Hotel reception or from the Cooperative Pro Binntal ).

 

Contact

Hotel Ofenhorn
Ufem Acher 1, CH-3996 Binn
Telephone +41 27 971 45 45
E-Mail


Hosts:
Regula Hüppi and team

© 2011 - 2018 | webdesign, webentwicklung, webhosting powered by indual

DIE GESCHICHTE

Die zweite Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts gilt als die «goldene» Gründerzeit der Schweizer Hotellerie. Reisen und Ferien in der Schweiz waren bei der vermögenden Oberschicht Europas äusserst beliebt. Riesige Hotelpaläste entstanden zunächst an den Ufern des Genfer- und Vierwaldstättersees, später entlang der wichtigsten Verkehrsachsen und schliesslich an entlegenen Orten in den Bergen.

1880 erteilte die Gemeinde Binn dem Fiescher Hotelier Josef Speckly die Konzession zum Bau eines Gasthauses in Schmidigehischere, dem Hautport des Tales. Dieser tat sich mit Elias Walpen aus Binn und Josef Schmid aus Ernen zusammen, um das Hotel zu errichten. Noch vor dem Baubeginn im Jahr 1881 verabschiedeten sich Speckly und Walpen aus dem Konsortium und Josef Schmid blieb alleine übrig. Seine Frau, Maria Schmid geborene Kräig aus Ernen stammte aus einer reichen Familie und war offenbar die treibende Kraft hinter dem Hotelbau. Sie führte dann auch ab 1883 das Hotel, auch wenn auf den offiziellen Dokumenten der Zeit entsprechend ausschliesslich der Name ihres Gatten auftaucht.

In den ersten Jahren florierte das Geschäft hervorragend, so dass im Jahr 1897 das Hotel nach Norden erweitert werden konnte. Mit dem Ausbruch des ersten Weltkrieges jedoch blieben die englischen Gäste fern. Die Geschäfte liefen schlecht und erholten sich auch in den folgenden Jahrzehnten kaum.

Während dreier Generationen führte die Familie Schmid das Hotel Ofenhorn in Binn. 1969 gaben sie auf: Der Erlös war zu gering, um den riesigen Erneuerungsbedarf zu decken.

Im Jahr 1972 trat die «Pro Unter und Mittelgoms AG» (PUMAG) auf den Plan, kaufte das Hotel und investierte rund eine halbe Million Franken. Das Hotel Ofenhorn erhielt eine Zentralheizung und alle Zimmer wurden mit fliessendem Wasser ausgestattet. Aber auch die PUMAG brachte das Hotel auf keinen grünen Zweig. Als die Fassade zu bröckeln und das Dach zu rinnen begann, verabschiedete sich die Aktiengesellschaft aus Binn.

Die Gemeinde Binn suchte nach einer Lösung, das Hotel Ofenhorn zu retten. Sie gründete im Jahr 1987 die Genossenschaft «Pro Binntal». Tatsächlich traten innert weniger Monate mehrere hundert Personen aus der ganzen Schweiz der Genossenschaft bei und äufneten die nötigen Mittel von über 1 Million Franken, um das Hotel zu kaufen und die Gebäudehülle zu restaurieren. 1990 war das Hotel vor dem Zerfall gerettet. Doch fehlten die Mittel, die Restaurierung der Innenräume in Angriff zu nehmen.

Erst im Jahr 2006 wagte die Genossenschaft einen neuen Anlauf, den Traum zu verwirklichen. Tatsächlich gelang es dem neuen Vorstand, die Mitglieder und mehrere Stiftungen zu begeistern, die Innenräume zu restaurieren und das Hotel mit einer klimafreundlichen Holzfeuerung auszustatten. Über 3 Millionen Franken wurden bis 2011 in die Restaurierung gesteckt. Damit konnte das Hotel zu drei Vierteln auch im Innern restauriert werden und erstrahlt wieder im Glanz der Belle Époque.

Lesetipp

Broschüre «125 Jahre Hotel Ofenhorn, Binn», 32 Seiten, viele Fotos, Genossenschaft Pro Binntal 2008 (erhältlich an der Réception oder bei der Genossenschaft Pro Binntal).

 

Kontakt

Hotel Ofenhorn
Ufem Acher 1, CH-3996 Binn
Telefon 027 971 45 45
E-Mail

Gastgeberin:
Regula Hüppi und ihr Team

© 2011 - 2017 | webdesign, webentwicklung, webhosting powered by indual