The Binn Valley

The Binn Valley is one of the most intact valleys in the whole alpine range. In 1964, the Community declared the largest part of the valley a natural reserve, and thus set the course for a sustainable development. The “Protection Contract Binn Valley” was concluded with the organisation Pro Natura and the Swiss Alpine Club for the duration of one hundred years.

All over the world the Binn valley is well known for its mineral riches. In no other alpine region can so many different kinds of minerals be found. Among them are more than 20 which are found nowhere else in the world. Most of these were brought to light in the Lengenbach mineral mine. These are special minerals found only in Dolomite rock strata.

Not only for its minerals, but also for its flora, is the Binn Valley called “valley of the hidden treasures”.Botanical rarities tempt numbers of specialists to the valley every year. The other visitors enjoy the flower-covered meadows.

With a bit of luck, one can also catch sight of the best known of the wild alpine animals such as chamois, ibex and red deer, as well as the eagle, the king of the air.

There have been settlements in the Binn valley for several thousand years. In prehistoric and early times, the Albrun was one of the most important passes crossing from the Valais to the plains of the river Po. Many grave discoveries from Celtic and Roman times confirm the early settlement of the valley. The ornaments and weapons found can be viewed in the Regional Museum right next to the Hotel Ofenhorn.

Wilere, with the parish church of St. Michael, the village of Schmidigehischere with its arched bridge, and the Hotel Ofenhorn are classified as places of national importance. The same applies to the hamlet “Fäld” (Imfeld), one of the most intact sites ever. The people of Binn and the authorities have for decades endeavoured to preserve this cultural inheritance.

A part of this inheritance is the work of the farmers, without which the fresh green of the meadows and pastures would disappear from the landscape. The work over hundreds of years of the mountain farming families has created and marked this cultural landscape, and this is appreciated by both our guests and the local inhabitants.

The Landscape Park Binn Valley is a project to create a regional nature park of national importance. The people of Binn, together with neighbouring communities, wish to preserve and sustain usefully their rich natural and cultural inheritance.

www.landschaftspark-binntal.ch

 

Contact

Hotel Ofenhorn
Ufem Acher 1, CH-3996 Binn
Telephone 027 971 45 45
E-Mail


Hosts:
Regula Hüppi and team

© 2011 - 2017 | webdesign, webentwicklung, webhosting powered by indual

Das Binntal

Das Binntal gehört zu den intaktesten Tälern des gesamten Alpenraums. 1964 stellten die Einwohner- und Burgergemeinde den grössten Teil des Tales unter Naturschutz und stellten so die Weichen für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung. Der «Schutzvertrag Binntal» wurde mit Pro Natura und dem Schweizerischen Alpenclub für die Dauer von hundert Jahren abgeschlossen.

Weltweit ist das Binntal bekannt für seinen Reichtum an Mineralien. In keiner anderen Region der Alpen wurden so viele verschiedene Mineralien gefunden. Darunter befinden sich auch über 20 Weltexklusivitäten. Die meisten davon wurden in der Mineraliengrube Lengenbach zutage gefördert. Es handelt sich um spezielle Mineralien, die nur im Dolomitgestein vorkommen.

Nicht nur wegen der Mineralien, sondern auch wegen der Flora gilt das Binntal als das «Tal der verborgenen Schätze». Mehrere botanische Raritäten locken jedes Jahr unzählige Spezialisten ins Tal. Die Laien erfreuen sich über die riesige Blumenpracht.

Auch können im Binntal – mit etwas Glück - die meisten bekannten grossen Alpentiere wie Gämsen, Steinböcke Hirsche und Rehe sowie der Adler, der König der Lüfte, beobachtet werden.

Seit mehreren tausend Jahren siedeln Menschen im Binntal. In ur- und frühgeschichtlicher Zeit war der Albrun einer der wichtigsten Passübergänge vom Wallis in die Poebene. Zahlreiche Gräberfunde aus keltischer und römischer Zeit belegen eine frühe Besiedelung des Tales. Die Schmuckstücke und Waffen können im Regionalmuseum unmittelbar neben dem Hotel Ofenhorn besichtigt werden.

Wilere mit der Pfarrkirche St. Michael und der Weiler Schmidigehischere mit Bogenbrücke und Hotel Ofenhorn sind als Ortsbilder von nationaler Bedeutung klassiert. Dies gilt auch für den Weiler «Fäld» (Imfeld), eines der intaktesten Dörfer überhaupt. Die Binner Bevölkerung und Behörden bemühen sich seit Jahrzehnten, das wertvolle kulturelle Erbe zu erhalten.

Dazu gehört nicht zuletzt die Landwirtschaft, ohne die das helle Grün der Wiesen und Weiden aus der Landschaft verschwinden würde. Die jahrhundertelange Arbeit der Bergbauernfamilien haben die Kulturlandschaft geschaffen und geprägt, die von Gästen wie Einheimischen gleichermassen geschätzt werden.

Der Landschaftspark Binntal ist ein Projekt für die Schaffung eines regionalen Naturparks von nationaler Bedeutung. Zusammen mit den Nachbargemeinden wollen die Binnerinnen und Binner ihr reiches natürliches und kulturelles Erbe erhalten und nachhaltig nutzen.

www.landschaftspark-binntal.ch

 

Kontakt

Hotel Ofenhorn
Ufem Acher 1, CH-3996 Binn
Telefon +41 27 971 45 45
E-Mail

Gastgeber:
Regula Hüppi und ihr Team

Öffnungszeiten

Sommer 2017:
20. Mai 2017 bis
22. Oktober 2017

Winter 2017/2018:
20. Dezember 2017
bis 03. Januar 2018

Sommer 2018:
Ab 18. Mai 2018

© 2011 - 2017 | webdesign, webentwicklung, webhosting powered by indual